Johnny has a mad moment

goodside                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          This is my hypericum hedge which was planted over five years ago and was a pleasure to look at until Johnny decided to trim it.  Not only did he trim it while it was in flower he completely devastated a large part of it before I realised what he was doing.

He razed several plants to the ground. leaving just a thin ‘hedge’ of the plants which had propagated themselves from the parent plants!!!

cutaway

What on earth possessed him to do a thing like that? When I saw what had happened I was visibly shocked but contained my anger and just said I was terribly disappointed that he had ruined a hedge which had taken five years to grow.

He didn’t seem to see what a daft thing he had done but I made it clear he was to ask me before cutting anything down in future. In fact, if i see him bringing in a chainsaw again I may be tempted to confiscate it!

He is such a good worker  – usually –  that I wouldn’t want to frighted him away by telling him off  but tomorrow his first job will be to plant the hypericum I bought today.new plants

9 Responses to “Johnny has a mad moment”

  1. Keith Smith Says:

    Oh dear, you must have felt like trimming him down a bit! I grew a santolina hedge once trained into a box shape, it took years to grow and I was proud of it, When I was in hospital once my wife decided to re-vamp the garden as a welcome home surprise and she had it removed and a picket fence put in it’s place!

  2. lom Says:

    I think I may have put him on the compost heap 😀
    But like you said you have found someone who is willing to do some work so its hard. Hubby is not a gardener and I remember once asking him to trim a bush back and I left him too it, it’s not a mistake I would make again.

  3. Zoe Sprake Says:

    Give a man a chainsaw, or even a pair of loppers, and he may lose all reason. I’ve had my wisteria razed to the ground and I remember a weeping willow that was chopped to a crew cut.

  4. lom Says:

    Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you all

  5. Genie Says:

    How are you and your family? I hope you bring us up to date sometime soon. Miss everyone including gardeners, plumbers and chickens.
    Genie

Leave a Reply

