Animals and People

Kica has had her haircut and bath and is now ready for Summer.
20150624_181327 (2)Here she is showing an interest in the snacks accompanying our ‘apero’.

We don’t make a habit of drinking champagne but my sister and brother-in-law came for a few days.  It wasn’t a very exciting holiday for them as I couldn’t go out much because of the problems with Bear and Whale.

Someone has to be here to help the carers tackle Whale’s wash and change twice a day and Bear has been completely off his head this week so I didn’t feel I could go out and leave him.

At 4a.m. a few nights ago I woke to find him sitting on the edge of his bed talking earnestly to ‘a group of women’ who were apparently staring at him but refusing to speak. He was convinced he had been abandoned on King’s Cross station but he couldn’t remember who he was staying with or their address. When I put the light on he exclaimed, “Oh, here’s my wife. she’s come to collect me at last!”

He is still chiding me for leaving him alone during his “trip to London”. In fact, he really doesn’t like me at the moment and calls me all sorts of names. My brother-in-law overheard his verbal abuse and came into the bedroom to tell him off.Later I heard Bear on the phone telling someone that he had been threatened with physical violence!

There are more tales I could tell but that gives you an idea.

Returning to animals, we had to say goodbye to Holly ( one of the cats) on Monday. She has a tendency to hide in the house so it was unusual for her to jump on the chair beside CC and she cried out, “Mum, have you seen her face!”.

Poor Holly had a swelling on one cheek and her eye was oozing bloody mucous. Of course, it was off to the vet on Monday morning. After an x-ray to confirm their diagnosis,the vets said she had an inoperable; tumour and it was pushing against her eye.

We couldn’t let the poor cat suffer with that.  We have buried her in the garden and bought an elder bush in her memory.

To end on a happier note, I had been worried about the two young cockerels, Frick and Biscuit, who crow as soon as it’s light and make a heck of a din. The neighbours haven’t complained but it’s hardly fair to subject them to the noise.

Anyway, I’ve found a solution – anti-crow collars. It’s just a band, attached with velcro which stops them from expelling all the air when they crow: result, a reduction in volume (and a rather strange  sounding crow).

It took them a day to get used to wearing them but now they don’t seem to notice anything. Hopefully it won’t disturb the neighbours now.

3 Responses to “Animals and People”

  1. Keith Smith Says:

    So sorry to hear about Holly, it’s always sad to loose a pet no matter what they are.

    Seems like nothing has changed with Whale and Bear then?

    I love to wake up to the sound of a cockerel, it reminds me of my time in France. Wherever I stayed there was always a cockerel!

  2. sablonneuse Says:

    Thanks for your comment, Keith. I’m afraid Mustard, who is now 17 is ill so we may have to go through this again before long. Like her twin, who died last year she has an incurable cough.
    As for the cockerels, Hector, the big daddy, lives at the bottom of the garden woth his nine hens and he crows as usual. The ‘boys’ live near the house so their crowing could annoy the neighbours (and when they keep on at daybreak outside our bedroom window it can be rather irritating. . .)

  3. lom Says:

    You are a saint

Leave a Reply

