This and That

Today I’m feeling rather virtuous because, at last, I’ve mucked out the henhouse (fairly) thoroughly. Most days I clean out the droppings and  add more litter but during the Winter I really don’t feel like emptying the tray completely so that I can disinfect everywhere when it’s either wet and windy or below freezing.

Today, after a hard frost, there was bright sunshine and it felt warm so I collected all the necessary equipment and got the job done. The chickens now have a sweet smelling home well sprayed with stuff to kill off mites and other pests that threaten to emerge when the weather improves.

Actually, after this Winter when the hens hardly laid any eggs but still needed feeding twice a day in all weathers I was seriously considering making this the last year of chicken ‘farming’ but now that the Spring clean is done I feel better about it again. Time will tell . . . . . . .

My computer has been a real pain recently, refusing to Start after being turned off. At first it seemed the cause was Firefox as it behaved better after I uninstalled it. However, Internet Explorer has tended to crash more and more until it refused to start again today. Windows managed to repair itself and the Kaspersky didn’t detect any problems after a complete scan but I’ve downloaded Chrome to see if it is any ‘safer’. The trouble is my remembered password for WordPress didn’t transfer so I can’t access the blog except by IE.

Bear and Whale are both booked in for hospital appointments next Thursday. Whale has to go to the ‘day outpatients’ to have liquid drained from his lung. They haven;t been able to find the cause of his pleurisy and so to avoid an operation he will have to go for this procedure once a fortnight. I’m also hoping they can fit in his catheter change which is due the same day.

Bear has had bronchitis for what seems like ages and three courses of anti-biotics later he’s still congested. He’s now on a fourth course for a urine infection. He has to have an ultrasound (kidneys, bladder and prostate) and a lung x-ray on Thursday afternoon. He seems very tired and sleeps most of the day but he’s also lost his appetite and it’s very difficult to tempt him to eat anything.

On the subject of food, I’ve been avoiding wheat (or it may be the yeast that causes my heartburn) and am trying bread made with spelt flour using cream of tarter and bicarb as raising agents. It tastes good and there are no after effects.

spelt

5 Responses to “This and That”

  1. lom Says:

    I am having problems with both chrome and explorer, sometimes I feel like throwing the laptop against the wall, yes I know that wouldn’t solve anything :).

    Hope Bear and whale feel better soon, hang in there.
    Love Helen
    XX

  2. sablonneuse Says:

    Thanks, Helen. xx

  3. Pontillius Says:

    Have you tried using buckwheat flour? It is wheat-free despite the name. It is actually made from rhubarb that has been dried and ground into a flour. Very tasty. It is used for make ”Galettes Complete’ and bread, especially in the region of Bretagne.

  4. Pontillius Says:

    I always make Roman style bread now. Go to http://earlshilton.org.uk/wp/pompeii-bread/
    and click the link to The British museum in the text. I leave out the gluten and use Buckwheat flour instead of the wholemeal.

  5. sablonneuse Says:

    Hi Keith, nice to hear from you. I’ve seen your post on Roamn bread with the most impressive picture and I’m sure it tastes as good as it looks. I’ve not tried buckwheat flour but it sounds like a good idea.
    In fact i think it may be yeast which causes my heartburn as i don’t suffer if I eat a biscuit or piece of cake.

Leave a Reply

