Baking

For some time after I came to France I wondered if and how I could get hold of baking powder. Nearly all the flour on sale is plain or strong and I was puzzled how French people made cakes.

I knew that ‘levure’ was yeast and eventually I learned that ‘levure chimique’ was baking powder and it comes in small flat packets.

So now, all that was necessary was to inform Jay, who does most of the shopping. We have a blackboard and chalk to make a list of items but it seems I had written ‘levure’ but been distracted before I could add the ‘chimique.’

Needless to say, he bought yeast and so I thought I’d better use it today.

It’s ages since I’ve made bread. French bread is so delicious it hardly seems necessary and so I only use yeast when I make Hot Cross Buns.

My Magimix has  dough paddles that had never been out of the box but today they  proved their worth. Arthritis is not helped by kneading dough for long periods and the machine does it in extra quick time.

I made two small loaves of white bread and two currant loaves using the Hot Cross Bun recipe.

bread

8 Responses to “Baking”

  1. Keith Smith Says:

    Hi Sandy, that bread looks fantastic. I always make my own bread because the muck they sell in the supermarkets is practically inedible! I have arthritis and I always use the Kenwood Mixer with the dough hook to knead my dough. I think you must have missed my post on Pompeii Bread. Look here:

    http://earlshilton.org.uk/wp/pompeii-bread/

    particularly the link to the video near the end.

    • sablonneuse Says:

      Yes, I remember you saying you made your own bread, Keith, but I don’t think I saw this post. Have to say your loaf looks more attractive than the one on the video!

  2. Z Says:

    I used to make all my own bread but got out of the way of it, largely because I was completely unable to resist eating it straight out of the oven, when it gave me awful indigestion. Didn’t stop me next time, though. We do have a couple of independent shops to buy reasonable bread, though. I’ve always felt that i’d start baking again one day, but I’m forced to realise that kneading is now beyond me and that’s the part I liked doing. H’m.

    • sablonneuse Says:

      As you can see, Zoe, this bread was started pretty soon after it came out of the oven and you’re quite right about the indigestion!

  3. me2013 Says:

    Yummy, I will be around in about an hour. 😀

Leave a Reply

