Could you eat ALL of a pig?

kickieYes, I know this isn’t a pig. It’s Kica, my dog. But she is the cause of my question.

Let me explain. Kica is difficult to feed. She’s ultra fussy but I think she deserves a bit of spoiling after her awful life cowering in a horrible dog pound in Serbia. She had distemper and gum infections that weren’t treated so has lost most of her teeth. She still has a fistula between her nasal and oral cavities which cause her to snort and sneeze from time to time but after three operations since being rescued they still haven’t closed. She has learned to live with it.

It’s been impossible to find a dogfood that she likes and the amount of tinned food I’ve thrown away doesn’t bear thinking about. Jay and CC brought back some different makes the last time they went to England and she took a fancy to Butcher’s dog food but we can’t get that here.

So I asked Jay to look for cheap cuts of meat that I could cook for her and mix with dog biscuits softened in the cooking juice. Bingo! She loved it.

Now pork is the most common (and least expensive) meat in our area but I was surprised when he brought back pig’s tongue, throat and tail all found on the ordinary meat counter. Only once has he found some beef marked for animals.

Do people really eat these parts of a pig? I’ve eaten lanque de boeuf so I suppose langue de porc isn’t so far removed and, sure enough, there were plenty of recipes to be found on Google France. .I’ve also eaten gesiers (birds’ gizzards) but eating pig’s throat doesn’t sound very tasty. However, there were also recipes for this online.

But pig’s tail! How would you eat that?? The package said it would need 45 minutes in a pressure cooker or three and a half hours in a saucepan. Kica’s supper is on the stove now but there are recipes for pig’s tail wiith chick peas or lentils and various herbs if ever I should dare serve it up to the family. . . . . . . . .

7 Responses to “Could you eat ALL of a pig?”

  1. me2013 Says:

    If you don’t tell them they won’t know ๐Ÿ˜‰ I was told the only thing you can’t eat from a pig is it’s Oink (nose). Pigs tail could be a bit like Ox tail I suppose, which is very nice in a stew.
    Go on have a nibble and let us know what it tastes like.

  2. Rog Says:

    Our Holly is a fussy eater who is still trying to train us into giving her proper food and not well balanced tooth friendly dry food.

    • sablonneuse Says:

      I wish Kica could eat dog biscuits without having to swallow them whole. She doesn’t even have enough teeth to hold her tongue in.
      What’s the betting Holly manages to get her way – at least some of the time?.

  3. guyana_gyal Says:

    Jamaicans cook pig’s tail stew. I have no idea how though! I guess you can look up Caribbean recipes online. I know people here cook almost every part of a cow, including the hoof.

    When we had dogs, we used to cook food for them, we didn’t have pre-packaged anything, and in an case, I don’t think our spoilt dogs would’ve eaten that dry thing that people buy in huge bags now.

    How did Kica end up in France?

    • sablonneuse Says:

      Hi GG, Kica was rescued from Eastern Europe by a French Association which saves dogs from terrible conditions. She was cared for by a lovely foster family while she underwent veterinary treatment and then was available for adoption. Her foster family had taken on two dogs from Serbia and they adopted the other one so happy endings all round.

Leave a Reply

