Measles

I have been told that there is a measles epidemic at the moment, although I’m not aware of any cases in our neck of the woods.

Of course, people will blame Dr Andrew Wakefield for warning parents off the MMR vaccine but there is evidence that he was right all along. Dosing babies with more and more chemicals at shorter and shorter intervals must cause some sort of overload and may even inhibit the development of their immune system instead of boosting it and in certain cases it would seem, it has lead to autism.

All the same, measles is not a pleasant experience and can be a serious illness for some children.  My mother always maintained that it was measles that caused my very bad short sightedness and she may well be right.

There will soon be an ebook available free from this website . Beau Carrel produced an excellent book for treating ‘flu homeopathically some time ago and I found it very useful for warding off the dreaded lurgy last winter.

Although homeopaths are wary of the overuse of antibiotics he does not advise people to dispense with allopathic treatment and like all serious homeopaths he advocates working with your doctor to alleviate the symptoms.

It’s a shame that so many doctors throw their hands up in horror at the very mention of alternative remedies   and refuse to work with complementary therapists   but it’s good to see that many  GPs in France are more than happy to use a combination of  treatments.

If any children in your family catch measles (or any other childhood illness) I do hope it will be a mild version and they will soon be back to normal health.

There are cases of shingles among the adult  population here and this could be due to vaccination against chicken pox. The immunity from the vaccine doesn’t last forever (but immunity from having chicken pox itself is usually for life) and this makes people more susceptiple to the more serious version of chicken pox. This makes me question the wisdom  of suppressing a pretty harmless childhood illness if it leads to a more serious problem later on.

But then, they are bound to come up with another vaccination against shingles sooner or later aren’t they? And I’m not getting involved in the pros and cons of that. . . . . .

10 Responses to “Measles”

  1. Truth Says:

    Wakefield has been proven over and over again to be a complete fraud. Maybe you should read ACTUAL scientific journals instead of random blogs on the internet. There is absolutely no evidence for his claims or for homeopathic claims, for that matter, since they are nothing more than the placebo effect. It’s just that too many people are willing to believe the easy way out and deny scientific proof because the truth makes life more unpleasant than they want it to be. Please do yourself a favor and learn some science.

    • sablonneuse Says:

      Hello and thank you for your comment. I respect your right to dismiss homeopathy out of hand but there is a growing number of people who are beginning to see that there is something in it.
      It may take ‘real science’ a while to come round to accepting the idea (after all in the past they insisted that the Earth was flat) but I am quite convinced that homeopathy DOES work. One of the reasons that Science can’t accept homeopathy is that no-one has come up with a way to show how a massive dilution of a substance can have any effect but I believe that in time there will be proof.
      The big problem is that it needs a well qualified practitioner to find the correct remedy which is why it can frequently fail. It isn’t as simple as prescribing such and such a drug for such and such a symptom. It most certainly isn’t ‘the easy way out’.
      However, I think you have to agree that the vast majority of drugs can cause side effects so if one can find a gentler approach to medicine then this is to be encouraged.

  2. Z Says:

    After my mother’s expensive and useless experiences at the hands of various alternative practitioners, I’m very wary of most of them. She was confidently told of all sorts of ailments and allergies, but not one of them ever diagnosed the source of the real problem.

    Chicken pox vaccine isn’t given to children here, there’s an outbreak at the village school at present. However, I know a lot of middle aged and older people who have had shingles who certainly weren’t vaccinated. It seems that one is more susceptible when stressed or run down.

    Few children are badly ill with most of the common diseases, although measles can certainly kill. However, if one doesn’t catch them young, they can be very dangerous when you’re older. And, of course, there’s the danger to unborn babies of rubella from their mother. My children caught German measles when I was pregnant with Ronan; I had had it myself already, thank goodness but it was still very worrying as immunity can lapse; a friend of mine had it twice. I would be horrified if my children chose not to have their babies immunised against rubella.

    • sablonneuse Says:

      I have to agree that there useless and expensive alternative practitioners out there and this gives complementary therapies a bad name.
      However, I’m fortunate in knowing a few well qualified and conscientious people who have done wonders for our family and so, from personal experience, I can say that homeopathy does work.

      I also agree that childhood illnesses are much worse if you have them in later life. I caught chickenpox from my sister who, aged 7, was hardly ill at all. I was 21 and went down with a much more virulent version.

  3. Little old me Says:

    Hi Sandy,

    I just want to say I had Post nasal drip, and the doctor gave me a steroid spray, which worked while I was using it, but within days of stopping the drip was back. Not wanting to take another course of steroids I did a Google and found a natural nasal wash made from boiled water and bicarbonate of soda, within a week the drip had cleared up and not come back.

    I am now on the look out for a more natural way to get me off the rest of my meds, as the list is getting longer and longer.

    I had the measles jab when I was a little one, but caught measles when I was 17, it made me very ill, sometimes you are better off getting these things as a child.

    • sablonneuse Says:

      Hi Helen, I’m glad you found a solution. It’s amazing what you can do with bicarb. I use it for indigestion and it’s just as effective as Gaviscon etc.

      Good luck with finding more natural ways to relieve your symptoms.

  4. Pat Says:

    In my day my text book spoke of measles as ‘ this dread disease’ and I still believe it requires careful nursing. We used to protect the patient’s eyes by drawing the blinds so your mother could well be right.

    • sablonneuse Says:

      It’s a shame that some children can be very ill with measles. I was very lucky that my two had it very mildly but they had been vaccinated.(I don’t want to give the impression that I’m completely anti vaccine. I just feel that putting them all together as in MMR, is too much of an overload for anyone, let alone a young child.)

  5. guyana gyal Says:

    I had measles. Then mumps. As a child. It was only as an adult that I learnt about the horrible things that could’ve happened. eek.

    In India, there’s Ayurvedic healing.

    I’m sure there are plants on this earth that are medicinal, and I think scientists study their healing properties.

    In Jamaica, scientists have discovered that guinea grass helps cancer patients. But I have a feeling that the “bush-doctors” have been using it for quite a while, that’s why scientists decided to check it out.

    • sablonneuse Says:

      If only they would look more carefully at the healing properties of natural medicines. It would save people from suffering the side effects of some of the more dangerous chemicals used nowadays.

Leave a Reply

