Tablespoons or pounds?

Put it down to age, poor eyesight or downright stupidity but I made a big mistake with the Christmas cake recipe this year by misreading ‘lbs’ for ‘tbs’ and it wasn’t until I’d gaily poured in a tin and a half of golden syrup and mixed it all up that I realised what an idiot I was.

Not wanting to waste all the ingredients I added more flour and some ground ginger and baked the mixture in two flattish tins.

While they were in the oven I proceeded to make the cake mixtureall over  again -this time using one and a half tablespoons of syrup.

The ‘accidental’ cakes turned out much better than expected and CC took one of them to share with her students on Friday morning.

It went down surprisingly well. The only problem is that several of them asked for the recipe.

5 Responses to “Tablespoons or pounds?”

  1. guyana gyal Says:

    Well, I guess you need to use lbs. of syrup again, then add more flour and ginger as before 🙂

    Sometimes I read blog posts to my mother and how she LAUGHS. Like the one with Keith sweeping his chimney and Pat’s comment to that. I can’t wait to tell her this one, hee hee.

  2. Little old me Says:

    You have created a new cake, shall we call it ‘Sandy sweet’?

  3. Pat Says:

    Great lateral thinking:)

  4. tillylil Says:

    All the best chefs experiment x

  5. Miss Footloose Says:

    Just remember what the famous gourmet Anthelme Brillat-Savarin said: The discovery of a new dish confers more happiness on humanity, than the discovery of a new star.

    So there you have it!

Leave a Reply

