Bossy Nurse

We have two daily nurses who come and  help Whale and they do alternate weeks.

Although they are a partnership they never seem to agree on what to do: one will swear by Econazole cream while the other insists on using it in powder form:  one thinks a sore place should be left dry and covered up but the other smothers it in cream – etc.etc.

The same nurses used to look after Yvette’s husband but after several altercations and a major row Yvette has taken on another practice.

On the whole, I’m not too unhappy with them but one is a much more of a pain than the other – she is bossy.

Yesterday she told me off for eating some bread when she came at about 9 : 30.

“But this is my breakfast. I like to do most of the chores before eating.”

“But you’ll be having lunch in two and a half hours.”was her parting shot.

This morning, however,  she really excelled herself.

“Brrr. It’s cold in your house. And it smells. You should put those chickens outside.”

“I didn’t think they should go out until they’re six weeks old and . .”

I was going to explain that we have another run on order but they are out of stock and so it won’t be here for another week.

Vero wasn’t listening,  she was dialling a number on her phone.

“There’s a lady in the village who keeps chickens. I’m asking her to come and see you and tell you they should be outside”

Well, normally I’d be pretty cross but,  actually I didn’t mind the chance to ask advice about feeding them and also the poules pondeuses. All the same – I think she has a cheek.

Vero arranged everything and then lectured me about us all going down with some dreadful lung infection if the chicks weren’t put outside forthwith. She went on at length and very loudly so that she woke Bear and he could be heard muttering from the bedroom. She doesn’t understand English but I don’t see how she could avoid getting the gist of what he said.

About mid-morning the lady came round with her elderly mother. They were extremely pleasant and obviously adored chickens – and all sorts of poultry as they have guinea fowl, ducks and geese as well.

She reasssured me that the chicks could eat most things now but that they should be kept out of draughts. All the same they could go out on warm days provided they came in at night. But they’ll still have to wait for the run to arrive.

She seemed to think that the hens needed a cockerel if they were going to lay eggs but I’m not sure she’s right about that. However, I do agree that they would be happier having the free run of the orchard when we can organise a way of fencing it off.

I wonder what Vero is going to complain about tomorrow.

Roll on the weekend when they change over and it’s Julie, who is much more calm and relaxed.

12 Responses to “Bossy Nurse”

  1. bretonne Says:

    They don’t need a cockerel not unless you want fertilised eggs for breeding. My girls are laying their socks off without a bloke in sight! besides, I don’t think you could bear to watch the vicious things they do to the poor hens……….

    • sablonneuse Says:

      Yes, I was pretty sure they were mistaken. We let the girls loose in the garden last night as soon as all the cats were in. They thoroughly enjoyed pecking about for over three hours and were very well behaved. However, I’m convinced they’ve lost weight since they’ve been here. You can feel their breastbones as there’s hardly any flesh on them. Perhaps they are getting used to a change of food. At least they are showing more interest in the mix of grain and pellets since I bought a troughlike container (on your advice). Still no eggs yet. . . . . .

  2. Little old me Says:

    Bossy nurse indeed, I don’t know how you keep so calm.

    • sablonneuse Says:

      According to Julie she’s having a bad (pre)menopause so I’ll try to tolerate her funny moods.

  3. Vagabonde Says:

    I think if I had a nurse like that I would stay out of her way, or read the newspaper or a book when she comes and then only look up and say “hum” whenever she speaks and go back to my reading until she gets the drift. Or I would put the TV on and wear earphones saying I don’t want to disturb her, but then you would not hear her either. I don’t like overly opinionated people who think their way is the only way – in anything, nurses, religion, politics.

  4. Susie Vereker Says:

    I think it’s to do with being a nurse – they can’t help ordering people about. Charming story about the cats and the hens.

  5. guyana gyal Says:

    I had to laugh, Sab, I know she’s cranky but this post is funny.

    My grandmother had an extremely cantankerous nurse, she made life miserable for us…I can laugh now.

    No, no, Susie, generally speaking, nurses are lovely people.

    Sab, the hens aren’t losing weight, they’re shaping up…all that running around outside is good for them.

    I wonder what Bretonne means by this, ‘don’t think you could bear to watch the vicious things they do to the poor hens…’ 🙂

    • sablonneuse Says:

      Actually, G-G, I think Vero has a heart of gold but she just reacts badly under stress. Three years ago she suddenly refused to accept any presents from anyone at Christmas or for her birthday but I was pleased that she was willing to accept a small gift to thank her for the English course she gave me to use at the library.

  6. Keith Says:

    I bought some ready cooked chicken from the supermarket today, . . . . it tasted fowl!

    If two chickens are clucking to each other, is that fowl language! Boom Boom.

    There’s more where that came from. . . . .

    (Christ! I really must leave the wine alone. . .)

    • sablonneuse Says:

      No problem, Keith. You enjoy the vin rouge and leave some more jokes when you sober up enough to see the keyboard.

Leave a Reply

