Counting down

The excitement is mounting as March 30th approaches because that’s the day Jay and I are going to meet one of my ‘new’ sisters at the railway station in Brussels and bring her home to stay with us for over a week.

We have been emailing on an almost daily basis and and speaking to each other for a good hour at a time on the phone. Despite this I’m sure we’ll still have loads to tell each other when we finally meet up in person.

Rosemary has sent me plenty of photos of the family I didn’t know, including several of our dad. It’s a great shame he died before I could see him but as he didn’t want to talk about my mum or me to his daughters perhaps it would have been difficult if I’d turned up in his life again. All the same, it is good to know that he had a very happy family life with his second wife and the girls.

Yesterday I had yet more good news when my other new sister rang to say that she, too, would like to come and meet me. It is very difficult for her to organise time off to coincide with her partner but they hope to have a long weekend in the middle of April when they can drive over and stay a few days.

Now I wonder when it will be possible to meet all my new cousins . . . . . . . . .

9 Responses to “Counting down”

  1. Z Says:

    I hope you have a wonderful time. How lovely that you’re all so keen to meet each other and put your parents’ past differences firmly in the past and not let it spoil a new happy family relationship.

    • sablonneuse Says:

      Yes indeed, Z, I’d often wondered if my father had any more children but didn’t make an effort to find out. I”m so glad that Rosemary did track me down.

  2. Pat Says:

    One step at a time. This is all so exciting and if you do it more slowly it will be easier to record your impressions and we can all enjoy it vicariously

  3. tillylil Says:

    Have you warned them about Bear?

    • sablonneuse Says:

      Good point, Tracey, but he does seem supportive about my newfound family so I’m hoping he’ll be on his best behaviour and just show his nice side.

  4. Little old me Says:

    Enjoy it Sandy

  5. guyana gyal Says:

    Tillylil asked the question for me. I’m crossing fingers and toes that everything goes well and you sisters enjoy every moment. x x

  6. Vagabonde Says:

    I hope everything is turning out the way you wish. How wonderful to have a new family. My father had aunts, uncles and cousins but never told me their names or where they live, so now I don’t have much of a family since my mom was an only child. I would love to find the rest of my family. How exciting it is for you.

Leave a Reply

