The plumber eventually arrives

It was Sunday night when the boiler died and Monday morning when I rang the plumber but he didn’t turn up until this morning.

However,he admitted that he had forgotten (!) and apologised profusely.

Then , to  my embarrassment, the damn thing fired at his first attempt.

“But, I did exactly the same thing and it wouldn’t light” I assured him, so he turned it off and watched me try to light it.

It was almost a relief when the pilot light went out as soon as I allowed the knob to come up slowly, and I was really pleased when the same thing happened when Mr Courtial did it.

He dismantled some parts and I left him to it.

Ten minutes later I took him a coffee and he explained that his colleague must have made a mistake when he put it together last time as there was something out of alignment.

Of course, his mate only has one eye and so it must be difficult to judge distances.

He checked that the boiler would relight if turned off and left saying as it was their fault there would be no charge.

I wish there could be a TV programme highlighting honest tradesmen. He’d be a star!

We had another workman in the house yesterday as, at last, Whale has decided he would like to have English TV.

He doesn’t feel comfortable coming to watch with Bear and me (I wonder why??!!)  so now we have a double LNB on the satellite dish and a second Sky box for the TV in his bedroom.

Now we have to teach him to use the controls.

9 Responses to “The plumber eventually arrives”

  1. Z Says:

    My husband never managed to co-ordinate the controls between the old tv and the freeview box – very glad when we got a new one with an inbuilt digital receiver. However, he’s managed to catch on to the rather more complex laptop. Similarly, he can manage the dishwasher but not the washing machine.

    Funny, isn’t it? Hmm

    • sablonneuse Says:

      Bear can manipulate the controls for the TV but always takes the long winded way or flips channels until Igive up and walk away. As for the dishwasher and the washing machine I don’t think he knows how to open them!

  2. Pat Says:

    I know I shouldn’t laugh but a one eyed plombier makes me giggle.
    I’m still getting used to the new TV and recorder. I can record a programme and watch it but if I record more than one they go onto a recorded list rather than the scheduled list and I can’t seem to access them.
    I’ll have to wait till one of the kids come.

    • sablonneuse Says:

      Well, I have to admit I found him funny, too, Pat – especially as his blind eye was badly covered, making him look like a pirate.
      Since Whale has had a Skybox fitted to his TV we are having problems teaching him how to use the controls.

  3. Vagabonde Says:

    That’s a funny story about your plumber. We called a plumber also to fix the leak in our sink, and he did not show up, he had forgotten. So, it happens here too.

  4. canisfamiliaris Says:

    I reckon a relaible plumber is the hardest tradesman to find. Re. your boiler firing up when the plumber arrived. It’s Sod’s law in action!!

    derek

  5. guyana gyal Says:

    Oooops, a plumber with one eye.

    I like being in control of the remote control.

Leave a Reply

