What have I been up to?

Yes, the weeks have flown by since the last post and there’s not a lot to show for it but here are one or two examples of how lif’e’s been treating me lately.

After the Italian class on Wednesday  Guido, our teacher, became rather curious after going through the homework – “describe your house”. I had mentioned that Whale’s bedroom was kitted out with an electric bed and a wheelchair and this had aroused Guido’s curiousity about exactly who lived in our home.

When the others had gone home he  started with some gently probing questions and Isabelle, the librarian, who knows all about the set up, started to giggle.

As I launched into an explanation his eyes widened in disbelief and finally he exclaimed “but it’s a harem in reverse!”

Then came a very naughty question. It took me a second or two to work out the  translation but he was asking which one I slept with.

“Neither of them” I replied.

“Well, in that case you need a lover.” was his response.

Incident number two was equally embarrassing but not so funny.

The local Cora advertised big discounts for bulk buying and we decided to stock up on loo rolls, catfood, tinned stuff and other non-perishables.  The only problem was that the account we ‘live on’ didn’t have enough funds and we’d have to break into savings.

I don’t have a card for this account (although Bear does) so I proffered a cheque. This was fine the first time we went through with a  trolley laden with 96 loo rolls, 60 kitchen rolls and quite a few litres of UHT milk but when we went back to stock up with less bulky but more expensive items, at the checkout the machine spat out my cheque without printing it.

“Have you another means of payment?” asked the lady, “if not I’ll have to call someone to look into this.”

I couldn’t see why there should be a pronlem so I said I’d wait. She wasn’t happy and neither were the people in the queue. However, we didn’t have to wait long before another lady appeared.

She looked at my passport, scrutinised the cheque again and then got on the phone.

After a while she said “I’m passing you the phone so that my colleague can explain why we can’t accept your cheque.”

By this time I was getting rather angry and embarrassed – and probably a bit confused  – because   I really didn’t take in what this woman was saying – except that it  was something to do with insurance.

So we had the option of leaving our trolley behind or paying by card. Fortunately Bear had it with him and I remembered the pin code.  It all went through without a hitch this time but I’m not sure we’ll be going to Cora again in a hurry.

There is one bit of (probably) good news n that the family have finally conceded that it’s a good idea to have chickens and make a determined effort to grow our own veg this year.

The greenhouse has been ordered and I’m surfing for  chicken houses now. However, the rest of the garden will have to be fenced off before we can buy any poultry. When things are underway I’ll keep you posted!

This weekend we have invited our friends to celebrate their recent birthdays – 83 and 80!  Next weekend some friends from England are coming over and then it will soon be the end of March when we’ll meet my sister for the first time.

I will try to post more regularly – especially as CC  had a laptop for Christmas so shouldn’t be stuck in front of my computer every time I want to use it – but it looks as though life is going to be hectic.

9 Responses to “What have I been up to?”

  1. Little old me Says:

    Sandy was Guido offering? heehee, get a toy-boy

    • sablonneuse Says:

      Like lots of Italians (or men of any nationality) he has a one-track mind, Helen, but I think he’d easily find a younger woman if he wanted one (but he’s happily married). On the other hand, if I were 20 years younger . . . . . . . . . . .

  2. tillylil Says:

    chickens and lovers. what a diverse life you live Sandy.

  3. bretonne Says:

    Chickens – we (myself and a couple of friends who have decided to join forces) are getting chickens at the end of February, having anticipated this by getting a chicken-house with integral run at a bargain price at a show. The idea is that you can move it around – it has wheels one end – and is fox-proof. It will take 6 chickens which should be ok for 3 people. We had originally planned to have 4 cockerels to fatten and kill for Christmas but they got a virus. Now this is relevant to your current post: you don’t actually need cockerels for the hens to lay eggs, only if you want to breed! Also, they are so rampant and treat their “ladies” so badly that it is distressing for a new poultry-keeper. I think it’s most appropriate that the French have a cockerel as their national emblem 🙂

    • sablonneuse Says:

      Thanks for the advice. I had heard about cockerels treating their hens badly so am not planning to keep one. The henhouse is ordered after searching the internet for the best price and ours comes complete with a run so that we can move it around. Even so I’m hopng to get the bottom of the garden fenced off so they can run around freely some of the time – provided the cats can’t get to them! Toby has found a way over the catproof fence so he may teach the others. . . . . .

  4. Pat Says:

    I’d love to have been a fly on the wall as you explained your menage in a foreign language.
    I had the same embarrassing experience when my card was rejected in Boots. I did some investigation (I had over £2000 in my account at the time)
    and apparently their machines do fail and over Christmas they stopped from over load for a while. Super drug rather than Boots for me now.

    • sablonneuse Says:

      Yes, Pat, I think you’d have enjoyed hearing Guido speak French with a strong Italian accent too. It’s amusing but really hard to understand sometimes.
      What he actually said was “Lequel tu pratiques?” and I checked with a friend that this can mean “Which one do you have it off with” so I guessed correctly.

  5. Susie Vereker Says:

    Hope the cats don’t eat the chickens!
    What with logs, loo rolls and all those lovers your house will be fuller than ever.

  6. canisfamiliaris Says:

    Oh! Saucy ces Italiens! Espérons que vous avez tout cadenassé quand il vient d’appel!!

    derek

Leave a Reply

