An amazing Christmas Present

If I gave you thirty guesses you would never  imagine the early Christmas present I’ve just had.

Would you believe it – I have discovered two half sisters I never knew about!

Maybe I’ve mentioned before that I never knew my father and my parents separated when I was a baby. It was a pretty acrimonious divorce: my mother refused my father any contact and even told me he wasn’t contributing to my support, when, in fact, he was until I was 16. She put the money in a Post Office Account and gave it to me years later.

Anyway, sometime ago I started a family tree on Genes Reunited and the day before yesterday I received a message from R who is the youger of my father’s two daughters with his second wife.

She sent me a photo  and it was amazing to look at her picture and say to myself,

“That’s my sister!”

She also sent me a family photo so that I could ‘meet’ my three nephews – really handsome lads.

We have already exchanged umpteen emails and some more photos and last night we talked for well over an hour. By a strange coincidence my father remarried in the same year that my mother did and he died just two months after she did in 1997.

We have so much catching up to do but I already feel completely  ‘at home’  with her. She sounds really friendly and easy to get on with. Dare I say it’s as though we’ve known each other much longer than 48 hours.

She is hoping to come and see us in the Spring. I can’t wait to meet her.

Don’t you think that’s the most amazing Christmas present ever?

20 Responses to “An amazing Christmas Present”

  1. Patricia D Mackay Says:

    Oh Sandy what a wonderful story. Isn’t it great that you never know what is round the corner. I hope this is the start of a happy period of life for you and your family. Happy Christmas!

  2. R Says:

    Sandy, you have a wonderful way with words, my heart was missing beats and there was a small tear in my eye as I read the article. Lots of love to you and all the family. Have a wonderful Christmas and New Year x

    • sablonneuse Says:

      Well I’ve been walking on air all day and when I found your latest email about coming over that was the icing on the cake!

  3. lilalia Says:

    What a wonderful gift this must be! The gods are smiling down on you. Do enjoy getting to know these new members of you family and keep us in touch with your progression. Happy Christmas to you and your family.

  4. Z Says:

    I’m so happy for you. This is so exciting for you – and for your “new” sisters too.

    Happy Christmas, dear Sandy, and how lovely that you’re looking forward to the next year so much!

  5. Little old me Says:

    What a lovely gift, enjoy.

    Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year

    • sablonneuse Says:

      Thank you Helen and I hope you keep well to enjoy your Christmas. here’s wishing you a Happy and healthy New Year.

  6. bretonne Says:

    Wow! What a wonderful Christmas present- and what a great 2010 to look forward to.
    For you and all your bloggers may I pass on this lovely Christmas message a French friend sent me:
    Dans quelques heures … Noël et sa magie. En ces temps difficiles, stoppons notre tourbillon quotidien le temps d’un moment en famille ou entre amis, retenons les lumières qui éclairent le sapin et les bougeoirs, les yeux pétillants des enfants, les rires autour d’une belle table, les souvenirs que l’on se fabrique et les traditions que l’on transmet à nos enfants.

    Joyeuses fêtes à toi, et que la joie rayonne dans ta maison.

    Translation:
    In a few hours… the magic of Christmas. In these difficult times, let’s stop our daily rushing around for a moment to be with our family or friends, capture the lights of the Christmas-tree and the candles, the sparkling eyes of the children, the laughter around a beautifully-dressed table, to create memories to cherish and traditons to pass on to our children.
    Happy Festivities and may joy radiate in your home.

  7. Keith Says:

    Good for you Sandy, I hope you get on well with them. I discovered that I had two half brothers a few years ago. Like you my Dad remarried after divorcing my mother. After he died my step mother got in contact with me and told me about my “brothers”, but I have never contacted them or met them. They didn’t want to meet me.

    • sablonneuse Says:

      Oh what a shame Keith. I wonder why they wouldn’t meet you after their mother had gone to the trouble pf tracking you down.

  8. judith Says:

    i have not been as lucky. my story is similar as i never met dad. they both remarried and i have six(!) half brothers and/or sisters who probably do not know about me. i got his street address from the internet and sent him a card years ago when my mother was dying but got no reply (the card did not come back). congrats on finding the other half of your life! my grandmother withheld any mail from him as she did not want him to “upset” my mother. life is truly bizarre…enjoy!

    • sablonneuse Says:

      I’m so sorry your story did not have a happy ending, Judith. Grandmothers and Mothers can have strange ideas when it comes to ‘upsetting people’ can’t they?

  9. guyana gyal Says:

    I wish you many, many happy years connecting with your sisters.

    That’s a bit puzzling about Keith’s brothers, I wonder the same, why wouldn’t they meet him after their mother had gone to the trouble of tracking down Keith?

  10. Susie Vereker Says:

    How lovely and amazing.

  11. Wizzythestick Says:

    I found your blog a while ago from Guyana Girl. Very interesting reading. Wishing you all the best with your new found sister. I had a similar experience as a teenager when I met my sister from London for the first time. It was a bit of a shock for us all my dad especially because her mom never told him she was pregnant before moving away to live in England. I am a parent now and I can only imagine how painful it must be to discover your child when she is already all grown up. Imagine all that time lost! My dad has another daughter from a relationship he was in before marrying my mom. M has been a part of my life always. Living with her mom but spending weekends and holidays with us. We don’t even bother to say half sisters we are sisters. I know it must have hurt my dad something awful to have not been there for his child. There I just stopped by to say hello and have launched into a life story sorry:-) All the best to you and your family for the new year.

  12. sablonneuse Says:

    hello Wizzy and thank you for your lovely comment. It is sad how oneparent can prevent the other from seeing their child. I’m glad you found your sister and you get on well together. I can’t wait to meet my sisters after all this time.
    All good wishes to you and yours for 2010.

Leave a Reply

