Carte Vitale and Glasses

It’s not often Jay and I go out but today was not the most enjoyable jaunt.

We both had an appointment at the Opthalmologist – mine for a post cataract check-up and Jay because he hasn’t had his eyes checked for years.

It is expected that you will wait at least an hour afer the alloted time before you see the great man. Some people accept this with varying amounts of good grace but others complain loudly.

Today, we sat in silence for the first half an hour and then people began to moan.  Jay and I had already sat in a long queue at the Caisse Primaire (kind of medical social security office) because I’m having problems with my Carte Vitale.

Two months ago they sent me a letter saying mine came from a faulty batch and it would have to be replaced with the new version, complete with photo. They invited me to return the old one  and use an “Attestation”  ( a piece of paper printed with the necessary details) instead, but my neighbour warned me not to part with one card until I had received the other.

Wise advice indeed because my new card still hasn’t come and so I thought it would be a good idea to go and see about it before my appointment in case there was a problem.

“No, no problem”, said the young girl, as she brought up a picture of my new card on the screen.

“So why haven’t they sent it?” I asked.

“Oh, these things take a long time”, I was told, but she did agree I could keep using my old card in the meantime.

We went in to see Dr T –  only an hour and a half late – and with less than five minutes left on the parking ticket.

Jay could see very well with his usual glasses but was given a prescription for sunglasses ready for next year.

My examination was not so good. The right eye has become weaker and needs laser treatment  before he can give me a new prescription. Meanwhile  I’m probably the wrong side of  the borderline for driving until this little problem is sorted out.

It was getting on for five when we went to see the secretary to pay the bill – guess whose card didn’t pass muster?  Jay’s!

He hasn’t used it for yonks and probably we didn’t update it last January.

“You’ll have to take it to the nearest chemist and update it.”

Off we toddled at a much faster pace than I’m used to to find a chemist at the end of the road.

But the wretched machine wouldn’t accept the card.

Afer waiting ages for “Communication”, the first time it said “Authentification” before cutting out and the second time it refused to do anything at all.

We went back to the secretary.  She agreed to do it manually but said we should go to the Caisses Primaire and sort it out as soon as possible.

Oooh, there are better things to do in town than sit in a queue or a waiting room for ages.

10 Responses to “Carte Vitale and Glasses”

  1. tillylil Says:

    What a pain. Take a good book next time. X

  2. Little old me Says:

    ahhh queuing the British way, heehee

    • sablonneuse Says:

      Well, Helen, it was queuing two different ways. At the Caisse Primaire you take a ticket and then sit and wait for your number to come up. At the Opthalmologist it’s like the doctor’s surgery in England -all cooped up in a stuffy waiting room till the receptionist calls you.

  3. Pat Says:

    So far I haven’t had to wait more than a few minutes at the eye place. The surgery is a different kettle of fish but you would only expect to wait so long if there had been an emergency.
    I do hope he fixes your eyes – especially if you want to continue to drive.

    • sablonneuse Says:

      The truth is, Pat, I’m not at all keen on driving nowadays but I’m even more of a nervous wreck as a passenger when Bear drives!

  4. guyana gyal Says:

    Not even a book would make me wait patiently. I mean, I’d wait, but inside, I’d be a bundle of impatience. What I would looooove if I had to wait ages, would be a little laptop, then I’d write. I’d get so lost in writing, I won’t notice how the time had passed.

    I’m a nervous wreck when I sit in the front seat next to my mama driving. So I sit in the back seat.

    I’m the best back seat driver 🙂

  5. Keith Says:

    Never mind Sandy, it’s all part of lifes rich pageant. One day you’ll laugh about it!

    That’s what my old Grandma used to say (Silly old bat! What did she know?)

Leave a Reply

