Feeling foolish

Imagine the scene: the bedroom lights refused to come on and there was a strange low-pitched buzzing  sound switchboardcoming from the ‘control panel’  in the garage.

CC and I found the offending switch and left it in the ‘off’ position but that meant that there was no light in the laundry room or Whale’s toilet – and there are no windows in either.

We tried switching it back on and there was no more noise but we decided to play safe and turn it off at night.

When I put it back on in the morning, lo and behold, the bedroom lights came on. However, only one of the four switches would actually operate them.

I rang Daniel, who knows everyone to ask if he could find us a reliable electrician. he came round the next evening, bless him, to look at the problem.

“It looks as though you’ll have to change all the switches” he said, and he called his mate who works for  EDF but does a bit of work ‘au noir’ to help people out.

Monsieur l’electrician came this evening and in a matter of seconds found the problem. switch

It seems that this double switch, one of which is for the outside light, was stuck. It should rebound each time it is used but it would remain in the ‘on’ or ‘off’ position and cut out all the other switches (each side of the bed and at the doorway).  He made it work but thought it would be better to change it eventually.

So we have light!

light

But I do feel a bit of an idiot for not understanding a pretty obvious principle.

10 Responses to “Feeling foolish”

  1. tillylil Says:

    Electricity is something we so take for granted until there is a problem.

    • sablonneuse Says:

      Yes, you’re right. Tracey. I’m ashamed to say it took quite a few power cuts before I really got to grips with the trip switch system in our garage.

  2. guyana gyal Says:

    I usually feel more relieved than foolish when an electrical problem is sorted out! I thank the poor electrician until he’s embarrassed.

    • sablonneuse Says:

      Oh yes, I was relieved too, G-G and I thanked the poor man over and over again but I think he was quite amused rather than embarrassed.

  3. Vagabonde Says:

    I wish we could find an electrician au noir here. Many electricians will charge a pretty good price just to show up. We have an older home so we don’t have many wall sockets – we have extension cords everywhere. You are lucky to have found someone so quickly.

    • sablonneuse Says:

      It’s frightening how much an ‘official’ workman will charge just to come and look, isn’t it. People are only too pleased to find someone who will work for less. However, I did call a firm to unblock the drains and the chap gave me the option of having a bill or paying cash for a discount.

  4. Keith Says:

    The explanation is quite simple. French electricity is different to English electricity. The English electricity is more stable and reliable, and doesn’t hurt as much as the French electric when you shove your fingers in the light socket!

    French electric can cause all sorts of problems, including damaging the switches and breakers because of all the lumps in it. British electric is much smoother and trouble free.

    I think I’ve had too much to drink tonight, I’m beginning to sound intelligent! But I’m not as drunk as tinkle peep I am.

  5. Little old me Says:

    I wouldn’t have know either Sandy

  6. Susie Vereker Says:

    Glad the electrics are now OK. You can do without extra problems.

Leave a Reply

