The dentist.

We have two very charming dentists  at the local surgery but I’m never keen to go and see them because I have this problem with anyone touching my mouth.

Bear thinks I’m completely mad – or being difficult – because he can sit in a dentist’s chair for any length of time and allow them to do whatever is necessary.

I do my best to avoid check-ups and if I do get as far as the chair I usually say,

“You can look but you mustn’t touch.”

Fortunately my teeth are in pretty good condition and rarely need attention.

The few fillings I have had,  were done by a dentist in England who, looking back, probably did them when they weren’t necessary.

I say this because after a long wait in her surgery followed by a very quick inspection, she told me to make an appointment for a filling. I decided to change dentists and the new one couldn’t find any problems whatsoever.

Since I’ve got older my problem with dentists has become worse so when a tooth started ‘niggling’ I tried taking Hepar Sulph (a homeopathic antibiotic) in the hope of relieving it.

The tooth played up intermittently and so it was time to ‘bite the bullet’.

The secretaries were highly amused when I made the appointment as, not wishing to inconvenience the dentist, I asked if I could  chicken out at the last minute, if necessary,  and let Bear take my place as he already has a check-up booked for next month.

Our doctor came up just as I was talking about panic attacks.

“What’s all this about panic attacks?” she asked.

When I explained, she said, “Well, you can’t be worse than I am.”

Would you believe it, a doctor who feels the same and so fully understands my problem!

In the end, I took three doses of  ‘Triple A 1m’ and was on quite a high.

I managed to keep my mouth open long enough (and wide enough) for her to inspect the teeth, poke around a bit and even use her descaling machine for a few seconds.

She found no signs of decay but thought that the problem was caused by a filling irritating the gum.

It was a very happy bunny who hopped, skipped and jumped out of the surgery.

So it’s back to the Hepar Sulph. . . . . . .

For anyone interested, the second English class went well but  CC had four extra people in her group. She’s going to send two of them to me next time as they were struggling a bit to keep up.

8 Responses to “The dentist.”

  1. Little old me Says:

    I hate the dentist too, every tooth in my head, or should I say that’s left in my head has a filling.

    It’s good to know you’re not alone when you have to admiit to feeling like that about the dentist’s chair isn’t it?

  2. tillylil Says:

    Well done for sticking it out. Perhaps it won’t be so bad next time!

    Depends whether she has to do anything . . .

  3. Pat Says:

    What a relief. Brave girl! Good news about the classes.

    I can’t claim to be very brave. Triple A really does work!

  4. Z Says:

    Well done for going at all. And well done for having such fine teeth!

    Thbaks z. I think good teeth are often genetic. My mum didn’t have any flase teeth and both my children have very few fillings.

  5. Keith Says:

    When my dentist decided to go private only, as most of them are now in Britland, I couldn’t afford his exhorbitant fees so I was asked to leave.

    That was thre years ago, and I still haven’t managed to get an NHS dentist and I desperately need treatment.

    Thanks Mr Brown, for keeping we OAP’s on a low pension and allowing all the NHS dentists to opt out!

    Yes, I’d heard how scarce NHS dentists were. That’s another reason to move to France, Keith. Check-ups and fillings are fully reimbursed but you do have to pay for crowns etc. However, it’s nowhere near as expensive as in England.
    Bear had the choice of a metal or white crown last year. The white one would have cost 300 euros but the metal one was 32 euros.

  6. bretonne Says:

    My doctor here gave me valium pills as the only way I could endure treatment in UK was valium IV, and I have a kind friend who drives me the one-hour trip ( I think this is because there’s a lovely shoe-shop next to the dentist) to a very nice dentist recommended by a friend, and who takes” crises de tetanie” absolutely seriously.

    Was that Triple A 1m of Hepar Sulphate?

    The hepar sulph is 7c (French potency) but the Triple A 1m is from England. I must ask exactly what the three A’s are. Our dentist is much more sympathetic now than she was a few years ago. When we first came to live here I think she was newly qualified and therefre a bit amazed to have a patient like me. Now she must have come across other nervous people so it puts me in perspective. We have now reached the stage of kissing to wish each other bonne année although her normal greeting remains a handshake.

  7. canisfamiliaris Says:

    Sandy

    I don’t know what Triple A 1m is, but I would have thought a few G andT’s before you went to the dentist would be enough to relax even the most panicky patient!!

    You want to try that next time.

    PS If you have enough gin, you’ll be unconscious in the dentist’s chair and won’t even know what’s happening until it’s all over!!

    derek

    Triple A is a homeopathic remedy for panic or fear and 1m means it’s a very high dose. Actually the doctor said she recommended rum (yuk) but I think I’d prefer whisky. Trouble iis you could knock the dentist out with the fumes.

  8. Susie Vereker Says:

    Good that you have such wonderful teeth in view of your phobia!

Leave a Reply

