English Classes

Yesterday saw the first English classes at the library.

When it first opened I offered to take some English groups if there was a call for it but it seemed no-one was interested.

However,  just before Christmas the librarian asked if I would still be willing as there were a few keen adults.

Of course, I agreed  but when we learned there were over a dozen potential students and there was a mix of adults and children I decided to drag CC along  so that we could have two groups.

The secretary at the Mairie photocopied my handouts in the morning and I went along to the library in good time (partly to take back a well overdue library book) to prepare.

Isabelle, the librarian, offered tea or coffee with biscuits and chocolates – a pleasant surprise – and then we got out extra chairs and I tracked down the toilets (a necessity after a walk in cold weather followed by drinking coffee).

The ‘pupils’ turned up in dribs and drabs and we started about ten minutes late.  Just over half of them had done some English but the rest were complete beginners so we gave them the choice of  staying with CC for a more advanced approach or coming with me into the other room for the basics.

CC, who has never been enthusiatic about the idea of teaching, actually enjoyed herself and her students were full of praise for her.

We both went over the allotted hour because time passed very quickly. It looked like a good beginning but we’ll know for sure if they all turn up again next week.

9 Responses to “English Classes”

  1. tillylil Says:

    Is it paid employment or a community spirited thing?
    You have gone full circle.
    I remember you teaching French to English children!

  2. sablonneuse Says:

    CC and I are volunteers. However, if the idea takes off we hope to encourage private pupils at home for a fee. . . . . . .

  3. lilalia Says:

    What a perfect way to get rid of the winter doldrums. All the best. Hope your pupils turn out to be good ones.

    There’s already an obvious difference in my small group and CC says she has one lady asking for more conversation while the rest aren’t yet ready.

  4. Little old me Says:

    Good luck

    Thank you!

  5. canisfamiliaris Says:

    Well, this is a turnaround after years of teaching French to the English!! Hope this project goes well. Keep us updated! derek

    Will keep you posted.

  6. Keith Says:

    A few years ago evening classes here for Senior Citizens were £10 per course (10 – 12 weeks) whereas people in employment paid the regular fee of anything between £50 – £80 depending on the course.

    I took advantage of the French I course and enjoyed it. The following year I applied for the French II Advanced class only to be told that concessions for old people and the unemployed had been axed by order of our wonderful government. My course was now going to cost me £75 for the term! No way could I afford that, so I dropped out; as did a lot of people in this town.

    I recently obtained an application form for the coming term and noticed that the only concessions now are for young students at college and immigrants! If they take evening courses they are FREE! Well, I suppose the taxpayer foots the bill; so in a way I’m paying for the ‘incoming population’ to take the courses that I can’t afford!

    I would love to brush up my German and French, but this years prices are astronomical. French is now £90 per term (8 sessions) and German is £85. (6 sessions).

    Sorry about the gripe, but you touched on a subject that is a sore point with me. Grrrrr!

    Evening classes are certanly more expensive than they were before I came to France. Have you tried looking up free courses on the internet?

  7. Susie Vereker Says:

    Well done, you and CC. I taught English as a second language and found it hard work!

    You’re right. There’s hardly a minute to catch your breath.

  8. Pat Says:

    How exciting and enterprising. I hope you get a good turnout next time and that it all goes swimmingly.

    I hope there aren’t too many more as we are a bit pushed for space. The main thing is that the regulars keep coming.

  9. Z Says:

    Great, and inspiring for CC too. I hope everyone turns up next time.

    Yes, I really hope she finds some self confidence by doing this.

Leave a Reply

