Happy New Year

We had a pleasant family meal last night but I have to admit I found it hard to get excited about the new year.

It may have something to do with the economic problems – which seem set to become worse before they get better – and the terrible collapse of the pound which has cut our income by a third since we moved here.

Anyway, my half -formed resolutions are all about belt-tightening which, to look on the bright side may make losing weight a bit easier!

The cats had a great time last night. parsleyParsley polished off the remaining prawns from Jay’s canapes

 

and Willow enjoyed playing Trivial Pursuits.

tp

 

 

 

The evening went something like this:

melon in port

onion soup

continued game of Trivial Pursuits we started  the night before

playingtp

Vegetable lasagne and salad

lasagne

finished Trivial Pursuits

inbox

coffee and panetone

Just in time for French New Year Celebrations

and then we stayed up to see the English new Year in, an hour later.

I, for one, was certainly ready to hit the hay after that. Willow was pretty worn out as well.byebyes

Here’s wishing everyone  a very Happy and Healthy 2009 .

If we can throw in a little bit of prosperity as well so much the better.

7 Responses to “Happy New Year”

  1. canisfamiliaris Says:

    A very Happy New Year to you and your family, Sandy

    derek, alison and beattie xxx

    Thanks and the same to you. xxx

  2. bretonne Says:

    Bonne 2009 to toutes, tous et matous!

    My reveillon was a really good book “Miserere” by Jean-Michel Grange, a gripping polar, to the sounds of the concert on Arte, and the radiance of the wood-burner, with Solo on his mat, Smokey on my lap, a (teeny) bottle of port and choccies. Bliss!

    And that’s under the crisis regime? I think we can live with that!

    Sounds good to me.

  3. Pat Says:

    I guess cats rule chez vous:) Re the down turn new year- I’m pinning my hopes on it bringing out the best in people and that we will all live more simple and less selfish lives – like in the war. I can dream can’t I?

    Well, you never know. . . .

  4. Little old me Says:

    happy New Year Sandy

    Thank you Helen and a Happy New Year to you too.

  5. Susie Vereker Says:

    So glad the pusscat enjoyed Trivial Pursuits. Again I wish you all the very best in 09.
    Willow certanly enjoyed playing with the plastic pieces but although she’s intelligent she couldn’t answer any quesions. . .

  6. zuleme Says:

    Hi Sandy,
    Over here the cat spay is right in the middle of the belly. You can get pain meds for them and I did for Ramona. On the bad side, if you give them pain meds you really need to keep them confined so they don’t feel too good and hop all over the place. On the good side, they will feel less pain. I went for that option.
    Ramona was ready to rock and roll right away but I kept her in a crate for a while. The stitches are usually double, some inside and then the outside ones, at least here.
    Best wishes for the new year for you and all your felines.
    Here, we’re getting a new President and boy, aren’t we happy about that!
    Thanks so much for replying to my comment on your blog. Our vet wouldn’t give Parsley any painkillers once the first ones had worn off and ‘human’ painkillers are toxic to cats so I had to watch her suffer. I may ask for something to give Willow when she has to go for her op.
    Yes, I think we’re all glad about the change of President. Let’s hope he can do something positive for World Peace.

  7. tillylil Says:

    I always get very envious of your blogs which involve food. You really do make the most of your family meals together.
    I have been thinking of you when I heard how low the exchange has been.
    Would you ever consider moving back to GB again or are you well and truly settled albeit in increasing poverty.
    Happy New Year.

    Moving back to England would be the last resort. Fingers crossed the rate doesn’t drop below parity between the euro and the pound. If a pound is worth less than a euro we could find life a bit too tough. . . . . . .

Leave a Reply

