Whale-isms

It’s some time since I moaned about either of my ‘patients’ but I’d like to share a few of Whale’s annoying little habits with you.

On the relatively rare occasions when i can sit down for a coffee with a visitor, Whale invariably has to chip in with something that he needs. It might be another bottle of milk or water – but nothing urgent.

For example: yesterday when I was chatting earnestly with my neighbour about her husband’s forthcoming bypass operation there was a quiet “Sandy” from Whale.

I pretended not to hear.

“Sandy” a bit louder this time, but I still didn’t respond.

Finally, an urgent shout, “Sandeeeee”.

OK, perhaps it really was something serious.

“Yes, what is it?”

“Do you know where Jay has gone?”

I replied, testily that I didn’t even know he’d gone out.

 

A few days ago CC, Jay and I were busy preparing a meal. Whale can see and hear what’s going on because his room opens onto the kitchen.

Suddenly he piped up,

“Do you think you could check my blood pressure?”

Before I could speak, both CC and Jay chorused,

“Not NOW dad!!”

 

Since the new stove has been in operation the whole of the open plan  groundfloor has been as warm as toast. However, Whale wants to keep his radiator on fairly high.

Today, while we were cooking he suddenly complained that his radiator wasn’t hot.

“But you can’t be cold, dad” said CC. “or you’d put a jumper on.”

“But I’ve just taken it off because I was too hot.” he replied.

 

You have to laugh, otherwise you’d go completely mad, but that’s what it’s like living in our house. . . . . . . .

8 Responses to “Whale-isms”

  1. Z Says:

    It’s like small children, isn’t it? Can’t bear not to be the centre of attention.

    Well they say old age is a second childhood.

  2. johng Says:

    At least the kids know what to say!

    Now I’m getting used to these puter things I have put your first comment right and deleted the second. Wish I could correct mistakes on the comments I make on other blogs but it’s too late once you press go isn’t it.

  3. tillylil Says:

    You are such a saint Sandy. I think any one else would have throttled them both by now!

  4. millie garfield Says:

    Here’s wishing you all good things in the coming year, you certainly deserve them.

    Thanks Millie, and I hope you have a great start to the new year in Florida.

  5. Keith Says:

    You didn’t mention Bear. Has me mellowed a bit now? I daren’t ring now in case he picks the phone up! You know why!

    I’m keeping quiet about him at the moment because he is showing signs of ageing and he doesn’t blow his top quite as often. However, he was a bit iffy when he saw your card so maybe phoning is not a good idea!

  6. Little old me Says:

    I did laugh at the jumper bit, my hubby will sit right in front of the fire, then take off his jumper moaning it’s too hot. When I say turn the fire down or move your chair, his reply is ‘I will be cold then’ men what you going to do with them?

    Sometimes I feel like throttling them . . . .

  7. Pat Says:

    That last paragraph says it all. You must feel glad you have the kids around.
    Happy Christmas to you and yours and I hope 2009 is a good one for you.

    Thank you, Pat, and all good wishes to you and yours as well.

  8. meredic Says:

    You know what …. for christmas I give you a small summer house at the end of the garden. Somewhere you can escape too and have a brew. plus a couple of armchairs and a small heater …
    Happy Christmas Sandy.
    X
    What a kind thought, Meredic. You never know I may turn up on your doorstep yet . .
    Marry Christmas to you and yours too.

Leave a Reply

