Not in the Mood!

For the last few weeks I admit to being a bit down but wouldn’t go as far as to say depressed. However, I’m finding it difficult to get into the Christmas spirit.

Several kind readers emailed or left comments to see how I was so I decided to come back and write a post only to find that wordpress has changed and definitely become more complicated to use.
Oh well, I suppose I’ll just have to get used to it. Everyone else seems to have managed.

This year our village council decided not to offer trees to everyone. tree2Instead they have tied some to lamp-posts and decorated them with coloured paper. They look a bit bedraggled and reflect my miserable feelings.

On the other hand, it’s one less bit of decorating to do. CC and Jay bought and trimmed our ‘indoor’ tree but we haven’t done much else – yet.

There have been two Christmas meals for the oldies; one on December 7th, provided by the village and another this Tuesday for the Club des Anciens. This time we had to pay but it was well worth the 18 euros a head.

Champagne and nibbles

Coquilles St Jacques

Trou Normande

Magret de Canard with Dauphinoise potatoes, bundle of green beans wrapped in bacon and stuffed tomato

Cheese kebab and salad

Chocolate or coffee eclair (with more champagne)

Coffee with more cake

Digestif

The entertainment was a chap who played soprano sax, mouthorgan and saw – but not all at the same time. He was good and we even bought a CD of his music.

The little box you click to add photos seems to have disappeared so. unless I can find out how to do it, this post is plain and unadorned. Sorry folks.

8 Responses to “Not in the Mood!”

  1. canisfamiliaris Says:

    Welcome back, Sandy! Hope you find that Christmas spirit in good time for Christmas! derek

    Thank you Derek. I’m sure Beattie will keep you active. Has she wrecked your tree yet?

  2. lilalia Says:

    Glad to read your post. If it wasn’t for my daughter, I’d be as equally nonchalant about this season. I prefer to celebrate very modestly and sometimes find the forced traditions wearisome. Yet, I try to respect other peoples ability to make a great occasion of these days. I just hope that you find a balance that lifts your spirits and makes you find light in these days of darkness.

    Thank you Lia. CC and Jay will drag me into the right mood even if it takes a few glasses of wine.

  3. Little old me Says:

    On your new post page at the top there are the words upload, next to this there is a row of icons click the first one and this is how you put your photos on, as for getting rid of all the boxes, I am still working on that one.

    Thanks! Do you know, I was looking for that icon and could swear it wasn’t there before . . . . .

  4. Susie Vereker Says:

    Glad you are back. Lunches sound pretty good. (PS Glad you enjoyed Paris Imperfect!) Have a look at my borrowed kitten on my blog.

    Gorgeous little kitten. I’m lending Paris Imperfect to my French friend but she’s going to have to read it very slowly.

  5. Keith Says:

    I always find that Christmas is a depressing time of the year. I think of my son, partner and friends who have died and realise that I’m alone now and it makes me so sad. Sooty, my cat and best friend for 19 years died recently and the house seems so unwelcoming and empty now. I shall be glad when the Spring comes, perhaps I will feel a bit better then.

    I’d like to think you’re not spending Christmas on your own. Hope you’ll be going to the merrie Monk for a long apero!

  6. bretonne Says:

    Trou Normande – yum! My grandson tucked into that at my son’s 2nd wedding, but the face he pulled when he came to the alcohol at the bottom was a picture. I’m quite sure he’ll acquire the taste for it in due course.

    Hope to see some pictures of your festivities in due course?

    Now that LOM has told me how to put in the pics you may well see some more.

  7. tillylil Says:

    Well, you have another few days to go until Christmas so hopefully you will have a change of mood by then. If not – Bah Humbug!

  8. Sara Says:

    HI, Sandy, let’s see if this works! I think seeing those bedraggled little trees would depress me…
    I am getting more into the Christmas spirit as my choirs complete their caroling and I have a little bit of time to do some baking and hopefully tomorrow put up some lights!
    That menu sounds divine. I had Magret de canard when I was in Montmartre…think I’ll google a recipe…

Leave a Reply

