Want a carpet?

The car pulled up beside us and a smiling  face said  “Ah, bonjour” as if we were old acquaintances. A hand was proferred through the window.

Trying to place the chap, I shook his hand and Bear did likewise. We both thought the other one knew him.

But then he started his patter. His story was that his friend had had an accident near Metz “You know where that is don’t you?” and he had been selling his carpets for him.

“I’ve just got one left. You can have it at a very good price.”

“No thank you.”

“But WHY don’t you want my carpet?”

“We have a person in a wheelchair at home. A carpet wouldn’t be practical.”

Fortunately he didn’t have an answer for this so wished us good day and drove on,  presumably in search of his next victim.

7 Responses to “Want a carpet?”

  1. BearNaked Says:

    You certainly have had encounters with carpet salesmen haven’t you.
    Is it a French thing because I have never been approached or had a carpet salesman appear at my door?

    Bear((( )))

    At least we didn’t buy one this time! As for being a French thing, I don’t really know, but it never happened in England.

  2. johng Says:

    I must admit carpets are a pain!

    There speaks a man with experience. We put the one we bought before under the coffee table but the cats took a dislike to it and marked it with pee, poo and sick so I threw it out after a few months.

  3. millie garfield Says:

    Many years ago when my husband and I were visiting Paris a car pulled up near us and asked if we wanted to buy some beautiful designer clothes at a give-a-way price!!

    Good looking man in a handsome black sedan – “no thank you” and away we went.

    Nothing like that ever happened to us in the USA.

    It’s certainly a strange way to sell things – unless it’s for a quick getaway!

  4. Pat Says:

    It must be hell to be a salesman. BTW there is a gift for you over at mine.

  5. Pat Says:

    Sandy: I came over yesterday but my comment is lost. Just to say there is a well deserved award for you and it’ s the last time I will be giving or accepting awards as I have been too spoilt already.

  6. sablonneuse Says:

    Pat, I’m sorry your comments went ‘for approval’ this time. Goodness knows why. Thank you so much for the award. I’ve put it in a post as I couldn’t figure out how to get it on the sidebar.

  7. Little old me Says:

    I am having trouble commenting on the award post

    That’s strange. I just posted a comment to try it out and it seemed OK. I also checked the ‘approval box’ and that didn’t seem to be hiding anything. Hope you’ll try again please.

Leave a Reply

