Bear reverts to ‘(Ab)normal’

The recent good day was an obvious blip.

For a short time I thought the charm was lasting when I went into town with CC and Jay and he didn’t moan.

BUT – I got it in the neck the next day when he accused me of neglecting him because I went out with my son and daughter and didn’t ask him!

He then decided it was my fault that the media player on his computer wasn’t working and when Pascal and Florence popped in with a bottle of wine to share he disappeared into the bedroom and turned up the television very loud.

When we went to his appointment with the rheumatologist yesterday all the old complaints came pouring out all over again:

“You’re not being a good wife. You ignore me. and you went out with your kids  TWICE!”

“But you’re usually dozing or reading or watching a train programme.”

“I only do that because you don’t talk to me.”

“OK, so if I came and sat down with you, what would we talk about?”

“Well, we couldn’t talk because everyone else would hear what we’re saying.”

That’s typical “Bear logic” and it may be due to badly managed diabetes,  some sort of bi-polar illness or just plain bloody mindedness.

 

12 Responses to “Bear reverts to ‘(Ab)normal’”

  1. Little old me Says:

    As Bear always been a pain in the backside, or as it happen over the years?

    I suppose you could say he’s always been like it but he managed to keep it well hidden until I was ‘hooked’. Looking back, I must have realised he was ‘difficult’ but let my heart rule my head because I loved him very much. Sad to say I don’t love him now but still feel responsible for him.

  2. lilalia Says:

    It must be hard when normal is abnormal. It also must be hard to keep a sense of humour when someone is so ornry.

    Maybe my sense of humour wears a bit thin at times but you have to see the funny side of his behaviour or else it would be just too depressing.

  3. BearNaked Says:

    Oh, you do have your trials and tribulations with him, don’t you.
    Bear hugs to you.
    ((( )))

    many thanks.

  4. tillylil Says:

    you,ve heard it all before and will no doubt hear it all again.
    How often do you remind him that you left him and he chose to follow you to France!

    I used to remind him often but it only makes him worse.

  5. Keith Says:

    “. . everyone else would hear what we’re saying. . “. I had better not comment on this or ‘everyone else will see what I’m writing’.

    Hmmm. . .I can see his logic. Does he shut himself in his room so that ‘nobody else can see what he’s doing’? Perhaps that’s a good thing really.

    It’s quite good when he goes to potter in the attic but you can’t be sure how long he’ll stay there. But there is a key in the door . . . .

  6. Susie Vereker Says:

    Oh dear, you are a saint. Maybe he could find an outside hobby?????

    He’s never been one for hobbies apart from trains and organs. His fingers won’t move well enough to play nowadays but he does go and ‘watch trains’ occasionally.

  7. Pat Says:

    Well somethings never change – leopards and spots etc.

  8. guyana gyal Says:

    He really is jealous of CC and Jay, isn’t he?

    After reading about one of Bear’s tantrums, I go about thinking what I’d tell Bear if I were you. But as Pat suggests, he won’t change.

  9. sablonneuse Says:

    Pat and G-G: it’s far too late to expect any change now. He’ll always be jealous of CC and Jay so I suppose we’ll all have to put up with him. He’s 81 and not very fit so there’s no option but to look after him.

  10. Pat Says:

    Or do him in. Just joking:)

  11. Susie Vereker Says:

    I am delighted you say he is enjoying ‘An Old-Fashioned Arrangement’ – my novel, that is! Perhaps we should think of some more fiction for him such as Alexander McCall Smith or Joanna Trollope or Claire Lorrimer’s autobiography, Susan Hill, or Artemis Cooper on Cairo or Olivia Manning, Nancy Mitford, Mary Wesley. I dare say it is hard to find English books where you are. If he was an English teacher, maybe he only read Literature with a capital L in his youth.

  12. canisfamiliaris Says:

    A one day wonder, eh? Ah well, c’est la vie! PS What about my command of the French lingo? Aren’t you amazed?

    What I’m really waiting for is for you to polish your passports and come see us. I can’t promise you fell walking but we do have some lovely scenery.

Leave a Reply

