Conflicting Interests?

I came across  Elderexercise on Claude’s blog and last week I took up her invitation to join in. My efforts are pretty puny compared to the other members but they are all very kind and encouraging.

Jay bought me a pedometer and it’s been interesting to see how the steps ‘clock up’. Unfortunately I couldn’t find the instructions, so resetting it was rather hit and miss: a case of pressing buttons haphazardly until it went back to zero and then not remembering how I’d done it.

Eventually, the little leaflet came to light at the bottom of my handbag when I turned it out to look for the new chequebook I’d mislaid. (That was eventually found lurking in a drawer).

In the first flush of enthusiasm I did two (separate) kilometres on the bike and then suffered cramp, so stayed off the damn thing for nearly a week. However, if I don’t go out for a walk I need to do some exercise.

Then there’s remembering to put the pedometer back on as you’re supposed to take it off when sitting down. A whole doggie walk was missed off the calculations on Wednesday because I went out without it. Still, that’s better than forgetting to take the dog.

So, you see, there’s also a need for some ‘brain stimulation’ and I thought I’d try learning Dutch. This morning the package arrived containing the Dutch course and another Susie Vereker  book.

That means I’ve been glued to the armchair for most of the day.  “An Old Fashioned Arrangement” is just as gripping as her first novel, “Pond Lane and Paris” and I was quite irritated when I had to put it down to answer the needs of the menfolk etc. The story is set in Geneva and the plot is a tantalising mixture of romance and intrigue. Needless to say, I have now finished it or I wouldn’t be on the computer.

So not many steps have been notched up today and the Dutch course will have me spending even more time sitting down as well.

Wonder if I could borrow my neighbour’s dog more often. Provided it’s not raining, of course.

4 Responses to “Conflicting Interests?”

  1. Susie Vereker Says:

    Delighted you enjoyed it, Sandy!

    Yes, I really got into it right from the start.

  2. tillylil Says:

    well there’s brain exercise and physical exercise and you must have a super fit brain!

    Don’t know about that, Tracey, I think the little grey cells are disappearing, if my bad memory is anything to go by.

  3. Claude Says:

    Good Lord, Sandy, the saddle of that bike must hurt your bottom like hell! Can I suggest something? Instead of counting by kilometers, just have a look at your watch and start with, let’s say 5 minutes, and the next time, you try six, and so on. Much easier than setting goals in distance, I find. Also don’t go too hard or cramps will stop you for weeks.
    Chi va piano va sano, e lontano!

    it doesn’t hurt that much, Claude though i don’t know how it would feel after, say, half an hour because I’ve never been on that long.
    There is a timer so I’ll take your advice and go for minutes instead of kilometers.

  4. BearNaked Says:

    My husband bought me a recumbant exercise bicycle yesterday and it is being delivered tomorrow.
    I tried it out at the store and it felt quite comfortable.
    I will let you know how my bottom feels after using it for a few days.
    I am hoping to lose the extra pounds that have been accumulating on my widening hips and thighs (and bottom.)

    Well, here’s wishing you good luck. Maybe you’ll join the elderexercisers.

Leave a Reply

