Tax and Trial

You may wonder what the connection is,  but the infamous Fourniret trial coincided with the time of year when everyone has to give in their tax forms and the courthouse is almost directly opposite the ‘impots’ building.

We went to give in our papers, crossing fingers that all was properly filled in,  and were confronted by police and barriers.

“We only want to leave our forms,” I said, waving the wad of blue papers.

We were told we couldn’t park but if Bear stayed behind the wheel I could go in to drop them off.

We drove cautiously past the collection of TV vans and more police and pulled up outside the ‘impots’ building. All the car parking spaces were cordoned off so I leapt out of the car hoping it would be easy to find the correct ‘postbox’ inside.

No, this year, there were two  boxes marked ‘Secteur 1’ and ‘Secteur 2’ instead of the usual four boxes labelled with the areas.

Despite the difficulty of access there was a queue at the Acceuil so I waited hopefully at the ‘quick’ desk where a woman was deep in conversation.

Eventually the chap in front of me interrupted to ask which box he should use and so I took advantage of the pause to chip in and ask as well.

“Put it in the blue box” he said.

I posted the papers and hurried outside. A policeman was watching Bear but I jumped in the car and we were off before he approached. We were not allowed to go back the way we had come so we had to find another way out of town.

They usually ask you to return your tax forms before the due date but I reckon there will be loads of people who have waited until the end of the trial before attempting to deliver theirs. Otherwise, they may use the option of doing it online. This gives an extra week’s grace and also a tax rebate the first time you register.

 

 

 

7 Responses to “Tax and Trial”

  1. Keith Says:

    I think I would prefer the French tax method to ours. I just don’t understand all the gobble-de-gook in their leaflets!

    I don’t have to fill in a tax return anymore being a pensioner. My personal tax-free allowance is £7,550 per annum. I get £7,464 pension per annum, but I have to pay about £200 income tax on that!

    Every time I query the tax office about this “slight” discrepancy by letter, phone, or email I am met with a stony silence or “Shut up and go away!” Weird or what?

    Sounds very unfair to me, Keith. It sounds as though they owe you a rebate!
    We don’t pay tax in France as our income, being pensions, is all taxed in England but the French want us to fill in the forms anyway “for information”. A couple of years ago I did something wrong and they tried to make us pay 2000 euros in tax. That’s why i’m a bit anxious when I put the forms in the box.

  2. Pat Says:

    You must feel relieved when it’s over. MTL does ours. Tax and insurance are two subjects I know nothing about and don’t wish to. So I hope I go first:)
    BTW My husband is quite smart but even he despairs of understnding the ever changing rules and regs.

    I can’t really relax until the ‘result’ arrives – i.e. ‘you don’t have to pay us any tax’. The only real problem is that the French tax year runs from January 1st to December 31st so they don’t want to know about P60s. We therefore have to work everthing out as the UK pensions people refuse to give us a printout for a calendar year. (Teacher’s pensions are quite happy to provide this though). We have all the details in sterling and for the last few years I didn’t know what rate to use to convert to euros. Since then I’ve found that French News publishes the official exchange rate for us.

  3. BearNaked Says:

    I guess I am fortunate because, before I retired, one of my occupations was as a tax preparer. I still *do* the tax returns for my immediate family and some friends.
    The joke in my family is that I am probably the only person here in Canada that *enjoys* doing tax reforms.
    Doing them keeps my brain fresh.

    Strange to say I rarely had to do a tax return in England because my salary was not complicated by any other income so they didn’t send me a form very often.
    In France you have to do it every year, although most French people have theirs filled in automatically and just have to check it, make any additions if necessary and sign it.
    My problem is dealing with a form in a foreign language with all sorts of ‘financial jargon’ most of which doesn’t apply but I can’t be sure. . . .
    Your family are lucky to have someone who is actually happy to do their tax returns for them.

  4. Richard Says:

    I’m glad that I didn’t start working “in” france until this year, so luckily I have another year to get to grips with the language before having to tackle the forms.

    Tho I’m sure it will still be a mystery… 😐

  5. sablonneuse Says:

    Richard, I think they may want you to fill in forms anyway because tax d’habitation (or maybe fonciere) is calculated on your last year’s income. Have you asked at the tax office – or maybe it’s too late now. Anyway, we didn’t know about this for a couple of years and they didn’t put us in jail!

  6. Richard Says:

    Yikes! Maybe I’d better check. We were only here for the last 3 weeks of last year, so hopefully they’ll let us off 😐

    If the fonctionaires near you can be as difficult as the ones our way I’d forget it if I were you – or else make very discreet and informal inquiries. As, I say, we didn’t realise for the first couple of years but it did decrease our house tax once they knew we were pensioners. I suppose before that we just paid the same as the previous owners.
    Anyway, best of luck!

  7. Richard Says:

    Thanks for the tip Sandy. I’ll keep schtum for now and see what happens. I don’t need any more hassle than is absolutely necessary! And thanks or your email as well – very kind of you to alert me 🙂 much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

