Decisions, decisions

Almost American recently wrote a post entitled “What was the best decision you ever made?” (You’ll have to scroll down her blog to find it as I can’t ‘click’ on anything  or leave comments).

It started me thinking what I would choose as my ‘best decision’ and I came to the conclusion that I’ve never made a really good one.

Take a choice of career, as this was the first major decision I ever had to make, and what did I base it on? The fact that I had a crush on the music teacher. I’d always wanted to teach but am not particularly talented as a musician. However, I trained at Music College and then spent my life teaching all sorts of other subjects.

Now let’s look at choice of husbands. Anyone who has read this blog will realise that neither marriage could be described as ideal! And yet here I am living with both Bear and Whale!

So if I was going to say retiring to France was the best decision I’ve ever made then I’d have to admit it: even this is not idyllic.

But I can say I’ve learned to count my blessings, look on the bright side and be pretty optimistic. When you’ve made as many stupid decisions as I have you have to learn to live with them somehow.

12 Responses to “Decisions, decisions”

  1. Little old me Says:

    The trouble with making the right decision is they feel like the right one at the time, its not untill after we see what said decision really means.

  2. BearNaked Says:

    Both Ted E and I agree that in our married life of 40 years we have made some awful decisions together and that the only right decision was marrying each other.

  3. Pat Says:

    It takes me so long to make a decision that once taken I don’t usually question it. The odd exception is when I have felt an overpowering conviction and so far those have worked. I may come back but at this moment I can’t think of a decision I truly regret. Something for me to mull over.

  4. tillylil Says:

    I think you were a very talented music teacher and very lovely to work with.

  5. sablonneuse Says:

    Little Old Me: thats a good point. I supppose i thought i was doing the right thing at the time.

    BearNaked: Somehow it doesn’t matter if you make some bad decisions together so long as you made the right choice in being together in the first place.

    Pat: that goes to prove that you’re much more level headed than i am.

    Tracey: aw thanks. You’ve made my day.

  6. Z Says:

    The best decisions I’ve made were the ones made by instinct rather than reasoned thought. Which indicates that I’m not a great thinker, but that I am lucky.

    Your instincts must be much more reliable than mine are Z. 😉

  7. Keith Says:

    Well, tonight I decided to go to the pub for a bevvy, as they say. Last night, and the night before, I decided to go to the pub. I think they are the best decisions I’ve made recently.

    But after reading your latest post I’m not so sure about the journey home!

  8. Keith Says:

    The worst decision I ever made was getting married. My wife and I were blissfully happy for 21 years, and then we met, and got wed!

    The best decision I ever made was divorcing her. After that all other decisions I made, good or bad, paled into insignificance.

    Like you, I can’t claim to have made good decisions about marriage either. I suspect most people would regard their choice of partner as either their best or worst decision.

  9. Hal Says:

    Good decisions, by definition, must mean good decisions for the person making them. Some of the most effective long range decisions I’ve had to make were painful. Therein lies the rub. Do you have what it takes to makes a decision that will invoke immediate pain, but in the overall scheme, is the best decision, and in the long run be what is best for you?

    I think I’ve made some excellent decisions, most of which were very painful. Divorce always comes to mind with issues such as this. Facing a fearful situation and not running away is another.

    I’ve made some stupid mistakes, and have regrets about that. But all we have is now; the past is gone forever and the future is not ours. Yet.

    Great post topic. Well done.

    That’s a very good point about good decisions being painful to make sometimes. The problem is when bad decisions are painless but you suffer with the results later!

  10. canisfamiliaris Says:

    Coming to this a bit late!

    re. your decision about teaching

    Would we make that decision if we knew what sh*t we would have to endure from the 1990’s on? Probably not – but I loved teaching real children – not the statistical ones that inhabit the DfEE or whatever it’s called now!

    Re. your husbands I’m saying nothin’!!!

    Best decision I made – why retiring, of course!! Never been so busy with things I want to do! That’s the thing isn’t it. We take control of our own destiny!!

    derek

    Retirement is certainly great but I’m not sure I could count it as making a decision: it was more a case of a decision being made for me when my eyes got worse. However, I certainly didn’t regret it!

  11. Sophie Says:

    aww Sandy sorry to hear the move to France was not idyllic either 😦
    Answer your post on my blog: la visite en France, that’s something to look forward to!

    I didn’t mean to imply I wasn’t happy in France. Coming here has improved retirement beyond measure. The problem is that the rest my housemates bring pressures that can be stressful. Look forward to seeing you!

  12. Susie Vereker Says:

    Smiled at your typically English self-deprecating remarks. True we’ve all made some bad decisions but one of mine turned out to be good. I married a chap I’d only known two months and it lasted 34 years until death did us part. I am normally a pretty dithery person but he had decided to marry me and so I kind of went along with it as it seemed like a good idea. And it was, luckily.

    Glad it turned out so well for you, Susie. Sounds like he knew what he was doing even if you weren’t so sure at first.

Leave a Reply

