Men and Marzipan

Whale is rather partial to marzipan and so occasionally I pop a bar of it into the shopping trolley for him.

Last time, however, he complained that it was too sweet and asked me to take it away.

A couple of days later he said, “Have you still got that marzipan? If so, I’d like to try a thin slice.”

So I gave him back the bar, together with a sharp knife so that he could help himself when he wanted.

With the arrival of the hot weather, CC put the remains in the fridge.

Today I came across Bear, in his armchair, munching something.

“What are you eating?”

“I don’t know. It was in the fridge. I thought it was cheese but it’s rather on the sweet side.”

As the marzipan is no more and neither of the men could be called pretty, I’ll leave you with a photo of the rhododendron which is just beginning to flower.

6 Responses to “Men and Marzipan”

  1. Z Says:

    Honestly, men. What do we see in them?

    Overgrown babies?

  2. BearNaked Says:

    Happy Mother’s Day Sablonnneuse from your friend in Canada.

  3. Keith Says:

    I’m partial to marzipan myself, but you can only buy it in BIG portions now, obviously for covering cakes, so it soon goes dry once opened; even in the fridge. Why doesn’t some manufacturer bring out small bars rather like a bar of chocolate?

    The bars we find here are not too big. You’d need about four of them to cover a cake. I bet you wouldn’t mistake marzipan for cheese though, Keith.

  4. Richard Says:

    Best use of marzipan is to be wrapped around a battenburg cake….mmmm I could exist on battenburg and water for life if I had to 🙂

  5. Pat Says:

    Mums the word!
    BTW I agree with Richard

  6. sablonneuse Says:

    Pat and Richard, it’s years since I’ve seen a battenburg. My mum used to buy one as a weekly treat on Saturdays.

Leave a Reply

