May 8th

Another ‘Jour de Ferié’ to mark the Allies’ victory over Nazi Germany 63 years ago, and all over France local Maires hold a simple ceremony and lay a wreath at the memorial. There’s a minute’s silence, they play the Marseillaise and then it’s everyone into the ‘Salle de la mairie’ for a vin d’honneur.  Our new lady maire conducted the proceedings with quiet dignity, despite the fact that the microphone cut out many of her words and then the National Anthem was barely audible until a chap rushed into the building to turn it up far too loud.

As it was such a lovely sunny day, CC and I had a little wander round the village after lunch. The interminable ‘travaux’ continue. This is where they plan to put ‘jets d’eau’. The water in Rue de la Gare was cut off for a whole day last week so that they could connect the pipes for the fountains but it looks a long way from being finished at the moment.

However, the main road leading in and out of the village is just about complete. They have filled in the pavements with more bricks and put tarmac in all the parking places. Trees have been planted by the carpark and all along the road. The house almost in the middle of the photo is where we used to live. We rented it for six months while house-hunting.

One of the new undertakings of the recently elected council was to provide more parking places, and some seats, near the school and Post Office. Today it was strange to see no cars there but we admired the tulips in the tubs.

  

 Another attractive part of the village is the stream. When it rains it is a brown torrent of muddy water but today it was crystal clear as it rippled gently over the rocks.  The tulips in the background are past their best but still look colourful from a distance.

The ‘commune’ employs four or five full-time gardeners/handymen to keep everything in good order. They clear up after events like the Brocante, paint lamp-posts etc, and will now have many more flower beds to tend. Their hardwork is apparent and it makes it a real pleasure to live here.

10 Responses to “May 8th”

  1. johng Says:

    Looks a lovely place!

  2. canisfamiliaris Says:

    that in the French psyche, the victory over Germany has to be celebrated annually. Unlike here, where it gets a mention every ten years!!

    I’m fascinated by your photos, Sandy. Your ‘village’ looks more like a small town! More please!

    derek

  3. sablonneuse Says:

    John and Derek, yes, it is a very pleasant place to live – small enough to be friendly but large ebough to have all amenities. The population is about 1400.

  4. Keith Says:

    I notice the blue skies. A very rare sight now in Englandistan! I have been trying to strip and repaint the outside of the house for a month now. I can only do a bit now and then because of the wind, cold, rain and other commitments. This morning the sun was shining, but by the time I had got the steps and tools out it had clouded over and is now threatening rain!

    Strange you should mention painting. I’ ve been waiting for it stop raining long enough to revarnish the front of the house. This week’s good weather meant sowing seeds as a priority but today I did the front door and garage and CC is going to do the shutters this afternoon. Hope you soon have some sunshine to get yours done.

  5. johng Says:

    Keith! You were in the pub with me on Thursday!

  6. Keith Says:

    John – So, it did threaten rain, but after I put the stuff away the bloody sun came out again! Today, it did actually rain at about 2.30pm and wet the door so that I couldn’t paint it….. and then the sun came out, so I thought A***hole! I’ll go shopping instead.

    My shutters have gone rotten, so they are not worth painting.

  7. guyana gyal Says:

    Our mayor should see this. But then, he does, he travels.

    If I were there, I’d sit by the water and dream.

    If ever you feel like a trip you’d be more than welcome to stay with us, G-G.

  8. Pat Says:

    What a joy to have pleasant surroundings. I think if I had to live some where like how I remember Salford for instance I would shrivel up and die.

    Our village is ideal for retirement. It’s quiet but everything is on hand.

  9. Hal Says:

    Very informative. I enjoyed reading this – makes me wish I was there to enjoy the beauty.

  10. guyana gyal Says:

    Awww, thank you, Sab, that’s so sweet of you. *When* I get filthy stinking rich and I can travel to many, many places, I’ll take you up on that 🙂

Leave a Reply

