Tagged!

Almost American has tagged me and the questions are probably more interesting than a report of what I’ve been up to so far this week so here goes:

1 What was I doing 10 years ago?

Well I as nearing the end of my teaching career. Despite the over zealous government intervention that really ruined teaching as a profession (at least, as far as I was concerned) my last school was the best.

it was a Middle School ( 8-12 year olds) near Great Yarmouth which ran a secondary type timetable. That meant  we were able to teach our favourite subjects most of the time and get to know a larger number of children. During the last few years I became a ‘floating’ teacher which meant that I didn’t have a class of my own. Therefore I was free every morning to run music groups until assembly time.

Now, I hear that more interference has abolished Middle and First schools in favour of Primary schools for the 4 to 11 age group in that area. I’m relieved to be out of it.

2 Five snacks I enjoy

Not a good question when I’m trying hard to lose weight. But I love:

any kind of dark chocolate

French patisseries

biscuits (especially covered in chocolate)

nuts

       and oranges.

3. Things I would do if I were  billionaire

Sometimes, if I can’t get to sleep, I daydream about sharing a lottery win of anything up to a million with family and friends – but a billion – I can’t really get my head round that. It may sound daft, but I think it would have a negative effect on everyone.

What I’d really like, in this dreamworld, is to be able to provide enough funds for CC and Jay to set up in business, for the Whale to have a team of carers 24/7, and for the Bear to have his own house (and housekeeper), close but separate from me. I’d like a house with an enclosed garden for the cats and enough income to be able to live without finding there’s too much month at the end of the pension.

Family and friends would have enough for a comfortable retirement.

Our village would receive an anonymous gift to use for the benefit of everyone.

Anything remaining would go to charities.

(I’d better start buying some lottery tickets . . . .)

4. 5 jobs I’ve had

Started helping in my parents’ hardware and electrical shops when I was 12 and ‘graduated’ to taking over during their holidays by the time I was 18. This was enough to tell me I didn’t want to do this all my life.

Trained at music college and then taught at a variety of schools: Infants, Primary, Secondary Modern, Middle and Grammar as well as giving private piano lessons and evening classes for adults.

5. 3 bad habits

Snacking

Putting off the ironing till it’s piled up so high no-one can find anything to wear.

Sitting at the computer when I should be doing other things in the house.

6. 5 places I’ve lived

Norwich, London, Wisbech,  various villages in Norfolk and France.

7. 5 people I’d like to know  more about

I’m not going to tag anyone specifically but would be very interested to know what other people have to say in response to these questions. So if you feel inclined to take up this tag please let me know.

 

One Response to “Tagged!”

  1. guyana gyal Says:

    If I were a billionaire I would invest, I’d give to my siblings and my mother. And I’d help poor children go to school or university. I’d set up some sort of thing that would help poor women get educated too, and help them set up small businesses for themselves.

    Oh, I’d buy myself the best sound system in the world and buy music from all over the world to listen to.

    And I’d publish my own books and market them myself!

Leave a Reply

