Bear and Bricolage

The one problem of asking Pascal to do a job is that you never know when he’s coming to continue the work.

The bedroom makeover spanned two months or more and it looks as though we will have quite a  wait for the tiling in the new toilet.

His parting words, over a week ago were,

“I don’t know when I’ll be coming to finish but it won’t be next weekend. I’m helping someone to do his office.”

Great.

I actually made enquiries about other chaps who might do tiling but the only one I found was even more expensive than Pascal. 

Along with the tiling work goes replacing the light and switch -the results of another ‘Bear job’ – adequate for a cupboard but not very convenient for a toilet.

Yes, it is a bit awkward to reach up on the left hand side when you open the door but we could live with it – or so I thought.

light switchThis morning there were sounds of drilling, huffing and puffing and the odd swear word from Bear. He was fiddling with the light in the toilet.

Abandoning the ironing I went to see what was going on.

There were wires trailing from the garage to the toilet and Bear was in the doorway with a screwdriver in his hand.

“You always come to criticise,” he grumbled, “Why can’t you leave me alone to do what I want to do?”

Visions of a power failure danced before my eyes but I said as calmly as I could,

“Well, it will all have to be done when Pascal comes to do the  tiling and I don’t want you risking doing yourself an injury.”

“I know what I’m doing. Now you go and get on with what you’re doing and let me get on with this.”

Fortunately the electricity remained uninterrupted but the switch is now on the right hand side – still too high and stuck on the wall with sellotape . . . . . .

brico-002.jpgBear then finished his morning’s work by cleaning the garage floor, leaving a neat pile of dirt in front of the fridge for me to clear up.

9 Responses to “Bear and Bricolage”

  1. Little old me Says:

    Ahh the handy-men we call husband, I have one much the same.

  2. sablonneuse Says:

    Yes, a typical Heath Robinson.

  3. Keith Says:

    Perhaps he left the rubbish for you to get up just in case you felt a bit “left out” of things. He wanted you to feel that you had helped in some small way….

  4. sablonneuse Says:

    Thanks Keith, for putting things in perspective from the male point of view!

  5. Z Says:

    Mine too. He can finish a job, but he rarely does.

  6. sablonneuse Says:

    The problem with Bear is that he thinks he can do it but his aptitude doesn’t match his confidence – and I usually have to live with the results of his attempts.

  7. Pat Says:

    Sometimes I despair of men – all of them!

  8. Keith Says:

    Ditto. Of women!

  9. meredic Says:

    This is why I leave all that sort of nonsense to She Of The Townhouse.
    I do the cooking and look after the kids. It seems to work.
    Sorry I have been such a poor commenter recently Sandy. Up to my eyeballs in work and getting a new job. 🙂

Leave a Reply

