Manic Monday

The new washing machine arrived this mornng.

While trying to clean the corner of the laundry room yesterday I couldn’t turn off the water tap to remove the old machine so I asked Bear if he could do it sometime.

A few hours later I looked in and found a large puddle on the floor. Yes, Bear had been playing with the tap and left it dripping.

Anyway, we were all ready for the new arrival and the van turned up at 9.30 with two very helpful chaps who took the old machine away and installed the new one.

Of course, I found a load of washing and tried it out . It was so much quieter but took rather longer than I was used to. I’ll try the 45 minute wash next time.

After lunch Bear decided he wanted to go and buy some cable but wouldn’t say what for. He asked if I wanted to go with him.

I didn’t, but as he’s been quite pleasant recently I said I would.

Needless to say I regretted it when he produced a leaflet for Conforama (my least favourite shop).

“But you said you’d never go there again after the last time.”

“Well you can stay in the car then.”

“Fine by me.”

He realised that he’d have to converse – in French – so he thought better of it and drove to Carrefour.

We found his wire and put a few more bits and pieces in the trolley, he chose a quiche  because he wanted ‘something  nice’  instead of the usual fare and then he led the way back towards the electrical department.

I smelled a rat.

“I want to look at the DVDs”

“Why?”  (he has three already and doesn’t use them)

“I want one that will record from video to DVD and from the television.”.

“But we’ve already got one that would do that if it were set up correctly.”

At this point he went into a strop – like an oversized two year old in a tantrum  – and we had a short, sharp row in the middle of the aisle.

“Every time I want something you say no. I was buying it for you anyway.”

“Well, if it’s for me, I don’t need one.”

“You can go back to the car then.”

“OK, let me have the keys.”

“Oh but then I’d have no-one to translate. That’s just like you. You spoil everything.”

And off he went towards the checkout, muttering and spluttering to himself at the injustice of it all.

4 Responses to “Manic Monday”

  1. Keith Says:

    What do you think of it so far?

  2. sablonneuse Says:

    I reckon you’ve done a great job. Thanks ever so much.

  3. Sophie Says:

    Who is the lovely little kitty in the photo?
    Bear is unbelievable, you must be so patient Sandy I think I would have strangled him by now!!!!!!
    Bisous et bonne nuit de moi et petit Chaddy qui fait une léchouille à tous vos minous xx

  4. sablonneuse Says:

    Must admit I don’t know the cat in the washing machine but he is lovely.
    My cats send slurpy licks to Chaddy too.

Leave a Reply

